Arambha

Roosters crowing children growing, got big plans but dirty pants, with kids to teach life is sweet!

Shake Your Monsoon-Maker

I can’t dance so I’m blogging for rain. It’s just humid enough to make the nights that don’t have electricity (and therefore no ceiling fan) unpleasant – so I am writing for raindrops to cool off the night.

The second set of classrooms is coming along quickly. I can’t wait to see all the classes over there – it will be so exciting and will make transitions from one period to the next much smoother. Then once the dining hall/stage area is finished the school will be fancy-pants finished! I feel confident that I will see it completed before I leave 38 days from now. Time has a way of warping strangely here. In some ways I feel like I’ve been here for 6 months, not 6 weeks. Children in the market know my name (they don’t just call me Maggie), I know where to buy batteries and who has the coldest juice boxes, and when I walk back from the school after tuition at 5 p.m. I feel like I am walking home. At the same time I feel like I just got here. Six weeks is nothing. There’s so much left to do! How can it be that my stay is in its final stretch?

Hannah has been painting a mural on the outside wall of the compound and even half-finished it looks good! Beautiful blue sky, mango trees, and a little red hen! The kids helped her prime and are now showing off their skills as artists by free-handing flowers, vines, and butterflies.

Laptop battery and my internal one are both almost dead so I’ll close with a few pictures. Hope everyone in the US is having a great Thursday!

One response to “Shake Your Monsoon-Maker

  1. Regina Marshall July 4, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Hello Lisa,
    Rain, rain come and stay awhile! Mary and I will do a little dance in the livingroom of my new place as we hang pictures. I must say, that is one huge praying mantis. What wonderful pictures of the beautiful people of Kopila Valley! I will be waiting to see some pictures of the mural when it is finished.
    Time has a way of catching us off guard! So , just enjoy doing and being every minute of every day!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

